top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNicholas Coulter

Why you should add a flashlight to your EDC

How many times do you pull out your phone to use as a flashlight day? Once, twice, three times? Well how happy are you with the amount of light you get out of your dinky little phone light. Because if you are anything like me than that phone light may as well not exist. Not only that but using the light on your phone is one of the most battery draining things you can do. Think of all the power you could save on your phone each day. That could be an extra 10 minutes of scrolling mindlessly through social media a day.


So why a flashlight?



I recently went out and got my self an Olight 13T eos. I was looking for a small, cheaper flashlight for my escapades around my house at night. I was tired of walking around with the measly .5 lumens that my phone offered, doing almost nothing to stop me from bumping into things. After some research it came down between this light and the Streamlight Microstream. For $20 these two were the lauded over flashlights of the EDC community. They were both small and compact, and offered a good light throw with different intensities. The Olight I picked up came with two different intensities, a lower 5 lumens for walking around the house, and a bright 240 lumens, enough to light up anything in the dark.


But what if that size is too big or small for me?


The small form factor and powerful beam make this light a great carry for the every day person. Its small enough to fit right in your pocket, but big enough to get you the actual light you need. Now there are many flashlights out there that are still fairly small, but much more powerful. Two of the most popular EDC flashlights in the EDC community happen to be the Olight S1R 2 Baton and S2R 2 Baton. These lights are fairly more expensive, but pack in features like a magnetic tail cap, bigger batters, and more intense and longer light modes, including strobe. If you are looking for a smaller keychain light, the Rovyvon Aurora and Olight I1R are super popular for this task too.

So if you are tired of sucking your phone battery dry just trying to see, maybe consider getting a small flashlight. There are flashlights in all sizes and prices, and if you just do a little research you will surely find one for you.

10 views1 comment
bottom of page